Quilting competition puts ‘green’ spin on tradition

I came to this story through a standard press release. Without having ever been the International Quilt Study Center, I had made plenty fun of it and thought I would see it for myself. Plus, it’s an environmental story and I love environmental stories.

I contacted both the communications director of the IQSC and a one of the contest winners who lives in Lincoln. Kate, roommate and photojournalist, and I were able to meet them at the museum and see the winning quilts.

The quilt museum is actually pretty cool. Shelly Burge, the winner, is a self-taught quilter who has taught around the world. I was very interested in her political protest quilts and might do a story on her later, perhaps as an unique enterpranuer.

Read it here:Quilting competition puts ‘green’ spin on tradition

~ by khaslett on September 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
