Life update

Another six months and I haven’t done a single thing with my blog. The rest of my life has been exciting, however.
So an update from July 31:

I worked as a student fellow at the Omaha World-Herald’s Lincoln bureau. I interviewed my second CEO, went to the state fair, learned about new cuts of steak, wrote about ritual cat sacrifice and of course, asked about financial aid.  I met with some very cool people like Josefina Loza, a prolific and fun features reporter, and even got my friend Dakin’s amazing investment fund profiled (not because he’s my friend, but because he’s doing some amazing things as a 20 year old).

Over breaks, I visit newsrooms. This year, I visited the St. Paul Pioneer Press, the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, the Omaha World-Herald (always good to check back in) and the Des Moines Register.

And something amazing happened.

I was accepted to be a business reporting intern at the Chicago Tribune through the Chips Quinn Scholars during the spring semester. That’s where I am now.
For the Trib, I’ve written about Toyota recalls, the Chicago Cubs, paying to get an internship and the post office. I have a three stories waiting to be edited and thought I would take this time for an update.

I leave the Tribune at the end of April, right when Chicago is starting to get nice.
I will be heading down to the Arizona Republic in Phoenix and work at a community bureau for the summer.
This summer, I will also be traveling to Lyon, France and Casablanca, Morocco with friends, and Bolivia for some backpack journalism with UNL’s J-school.

~ by khaslett on March 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
